Beyonce Releases Surprise Album

Matt Dekneef

Bey-st. Day. Ever.

Today, Beyoncé casually dropped a full-length “visual” album—14 brand new songs accompanied by 17 music videos (17!)—entitled none other than Beyoncé and now life as we know it may never be the same.

While this release is a surprise, it really shouldn’t be. When her pop contemporaries go one way, Beyoncé goes another—forgoing the traditional route of marketing and pre-promotion we’ve come to expect from the industry—ultimately pulling off one of the best-kept secrets in recent recording history.

She unleashed the news with a video on her Instagram:

With report after report lamenting the wait for a new Beyoncé album after nearly twotorturous years since her last offering, 2011’s 4, the singer explained why she kept it all so secret in a statement:

“I didn’t want to release my music the way I’ve done it. I am bored with that. I feel like I am able to speak directly to my fans. There’s so much that gets between the music, the artist and the fans. I felt like I didn’t want anybody to give the message when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans.”

Beyoncé boasts collaborations with her husband Jay Z, Timbaland, Justin Timberlake, Pharrell, Drake, Frank Ocean, Miguel, and more. Here’s the full track list:

1. Pretty Hurts

2. Haunted

3. Drunk in Love (feat. Jay Z)

4. Blow

5. No Angel

6. Partition

7. Jealous

8. Rocket

9. Mine (feat. Drake)

10. XO

11. ***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)

12. Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean)

13. Heaven

14. Blue (feat. Blue Ivy)

The album is available exclusively on iTunes. According to her label, individual songs will be available for purchase on the 20th and a physical CD/DVD will be available before the holidays.

  • More:
Share on Twitter