QUIZ: Can You Still Pass This Driver’s License Test?

Anyone who has ever studied for a driver’s test knows just how many rules you have to memorize in order to get your license. There are tons of signs on the road, too and some of them even look similar but mean totally different things. So, it’s almost a miracle that so many people pass the test and avoid accidents when they’re behind the wheel of a car.

Think you have what it takes to pass this road quiz? Even if you’re an experienced driver, you may have forgotten some of the very important rules of the road. If you’ve ever considered driving as a career, you’ll definitely need to be well-versed on what to do in every situation behind the wheel.

Anyone who has ever studied for a driver’s test knows just how many rules you have to memorize in order to get your license. There are tons of signs on the road, too and some of them even look similar but mean totally different things. So, it’s almost a miracle that so many people pass the test and avoid accidents when they’re behind the wheel of a car.

Think you have what it takes to pass this road quiz? Even if you’re an experienced driver, you may have forgotten some of the very important rules of the road. If you’ve ever considered driving as a career, you’ll definitely need to be well-versed on what to do in every situation behind the wheel.

What must drivers do when they see a yield sign?

  • Ignore it
  • Hit the gas
  • Stop until it’s okay to proceed
  • Slow down and prepare to stop if traffic conditions demand it

It may not be a stop sign, but a yield sign indicates that someone else has the right of way. So, drivers are required to slow down and stay alert. If there are no other pedestrians or vehicles on the road, then the driver can proceed.

It may not be a stop sign, but a yield sign indicates that someone else has the right of way. So, drivers are required to slow down and stay alert. If there are no other pedestrians or vehicles on the road, then the driver can proceed.

How long will a driver’s commercial driver's license be disqualified for if they get a DUI?

  • 1 month
  • 1 year
  • 5 years
  • 10 years

First offenses disqualify a driver’s CDL for one year. But if the driver has multiple offenses on their record, the suspension time may be higher. Multiple DUI's can also lead to a driver's CDL being revoked completely.

First offenses disqualify a driver’s CDL for one year. But if the driver has multiple offenses on their record, the suspension time may be higher. Multiple DUI's can also lead to a driver's CDL being revoked completely.

Is a helmet required when riding a motorcycle?

  • No
  • Yes
  • If the weather is bad
  • It depends

19 states have a universal helmet law that requires motorcycle riders to wear their helmet. 3 states which include Illinois, Indiana, and New Hampshire, don’t require helmets. The remaining states do have a law that requires certain drivers to have a helmet on.

19 states have a universal helmet law that requires motorcycle riders to wear their helmet. 3 states which include Illinois, Indiana, and New Hampshire, don’t require helmets. The remaining states do have a law that requires certain drivers to have a helmet on.

How often should a pre-trip inspection be completed?

  • At the beginning of the journey
  • Before starting the vehicle
  • Every two weeks
  • If something sounds wrong in the engine

Always perform a pre-trip inspection before heading out because the last thing anyone wants is to break down in the middle of their journey when they’re too far away from the nearest gas station or mechanic’s shop.

Always perform a pre-trip inspection before heading out because the last thing anyone wants is to break down in the middle of their journey when they’re too far away from the nearest gas station or mechanic’s shop.

Identify which of the tests below is not required for drivers to get their CDL.

  • Driving test
  • Vision exam
  • Oral exam
  • Written test

Drivers are required to pass a visual and medical test as well as a written and practical test. The written portion of the test focuses on road rules while the driving portion evaluates whether a driver can handle the vehicle they are driving or not.

Drivers are required to pass a visual and medical test as well as a written and practical test. The written portion of the test focuses on road rules while the driving portion evaluates whether a driver can handle the vehicle they are driving or not.

What is the maximum legal weight a driver can carry when driving a 5-axle (or more) combination vehicle?

  • 35,000 pounds
  • 100,000 pounds
  • 80,000 pounds
  • 50,000 pounds

In most states, the maximum legal weight limit for a five-axle combination vehicle is 80,000 pounds. Some states, however, have the 80,000-pound limit listed for six-axle vehicles.

In most states, the maximum legal weight limit for a five-axle combination vehicle is 80,000 pounds. Some states, however, have the 80,000-pound limit listed for six-axle vehicles.

How fast should a driver go when they drive through a curvy road?

  • Floor it
  • Go in quickly but brake every time you swerve
  • Drive at your own risk
  • Slow down before entering the curve and avoid braking

The safest way to navigate through a curvy road is to slow down before entering it and then driving through it at a safe speed. But avoid hitting the brakes as the driver behind you might crash into you.

The safest way to navigate through a curvy road is to slow down before entering it and then driving through it at a safe speed. But avoid hitting the brakes as the driver behind you might crash into you.

What is the best way to park a car on a hill when heading downhill?

  • Use the parking brake
  • Turn the front wheels towards the curb and apply the parking brake
  • Avoid parking when heading downhill
  • Turn the back wheels to the curb when parking

It’s important to turn the front wheels of the vehicle towards the side of the road or curb when parking on a downhill slope. That way if the car moves, it will move to the side instead of traffic.

It’s important to turn the front wheels of the vehicle towards the side of the road or curb when parking on a downhill slope. That way if the car moves, it will move to the side instead of traffic.

Is it okay to slow down but not stop when there’s a stop sign in the corner?

  • No
  • Totally
  • Yes, but only if there aren’t any cops around
  • No. The sign’s just there for decoration.

Stop means stop and cops require drivers to come to a complete stop even if it’s 3 a.m. and there’s no one around. There’s no excuse for running a stop sign and may even lead to a serious accident or a hefty fine.

Stop means stop and cops require drivers to come to a complete stop even if it’s 3 a.m. and there’s no one around. There’s no excuse for running a stop sign and may even lead to a serious accident or a hefty fine.

What should a driver do when they a red light flashing?

  • Wait for the light to change
  • Proceed with caution
  • Stop, check and then proceed with caution
  • Slow down and stop if there’s another car

When drivers see a blinking red light, they should treat it like a stop sign. Stop, check, and then proceed when it’s safe enough to proceed but not before.

When drivers see a blinking red light, they should treat it like a stop sign. Stop, check, and then proceed when it’s safe enough to proceed but not before.

What does it mean when a driver encounters a flashing yellow light?

  • Slow down
  • Proceed with caution
  • Hit the gas
  • Hit the breaks

A flashing yellow light means that drivers must slow down when approaching an intersection. In some cases, it’s a good idea to stop and look both ways before proceeding.

A flashing yellow light means that drivers must slow down when approaching an intersection. In some cases, it’s a good idea to stop and look both ways before proceeding.

For how many hours can a driver drive a property-carrying commercial vehicle after taking a 10-hour break?

  • 15 hours
  • 24 hours
  • 5 hours
  • 11 hours

According to federal law, the maximum driving limit after taking a 10-hour break when driving a property-carrying vehicle is 11 hours. The maximum for passengers is 10 hours. And drivers must not drive beyond the 14th hour after returning to duty.

According to federal law, the maximum driving limit after taking a 10-hour break when driving a property-carrying vehicle is 11 hours. The maximum for passengers is 10 hours. And drivers must not drive beyond the 14th hour after returning to duty.

When should headlights be used?

  • At night
  • At night and during bad weather
  • Always
  • Never

18 states require that drivers have their headlights on all the time. 7 states require for certain models. Only a handful of states have no laws. But as a general safety rule, it’s always advised that drivers have their headlights on during the day and night.

18 states require that drivers have their headlights on all the time. 7 states require for certain models. Only a handful of states have no laws. But as a general safety rule, it’s always advised that drivers have their headlights on during the day and night.

What must riders do when they are driving their motorcycles with a group?

  • Avoid the group altogether
  • Use a diamond shaped formation
  • Drive in a single file
  • Use a staggered formation

The safest way to ride in a group is to avoid riding side by side. Instead, it is recommended that bikers stagger their motorcycles. If, however, there is low visibility on the road or the road is curvy, then riders may ride in a single file.

The safest way to ride in a group is to avoid riding side by side. Instead, it is recommended that bikers stagger their motorcycles. If, however, there is low visibility on the road or the road is curvy, then riders may ride in a single file.

Is it legal to drive a motorcycle between lanes to pass cars?

  • No
  • It varies by state
  • Absolutely
  • Yes, but only if it’s an emergency.

Lane splitting, aka a motorcyclist driving between lanes to cut through traffic, is illegal in most states. But approximately 10 states make no mention of this violation in their traffic laws, and in California, it’s totally legal.

Lane splitting, aka a motorcyclist driving between lanes to cut through traffic, is illegal in most states. But approximately 10 states make no mention of this violation in their traffic laws, and in California, it’s totally legal.

Which lights should drivers use when driving in fog?

  • Who cares?
  • No lights
  • Low-beam lights
  • High-beam lights

Drivers should use low-beam lights when driving in a fog. Using high beams is dangerous as the light tends to reflect on the fog. Low-beam lights not only helps the driver to see but also makes their car visible to other drivers.

Drivers should use low-beam lights when driving in a fog. Using high beams is dangerous as the light tends to reflect on the fog. Low-beam lights not only helps the driver to see but also makes their car visible to other drivers.

How many states can a driver hold a CDL at the same time?

  • 10
  • 7
  • 1
  • 5

It’s against the law to have more than one CDL in more than one state. It’s why drivers generally get a CDL in their home state. But it’s okay to cross state lines with the CDL so long as the driver is over 21.

It’s against the law to have more than one CDL in more than one state. It’s why drivers generally get a CDL in their home state. But it’s okay to cross state lines with the CDL so long as the driver is over 21.

When merging onto a highway, who was the right of way?

  • You do
  • The traffic on the highway.
  • Depends on the circumstances
  • No one

Drivers already on the highway will always have the right of way over the drivers merging into traffic. Those who wish to get in must lie on the mercy of drivers on the highway or wait for an opening to slide in.

Drivers already on the highway will always have the right of way over the drivers merging into traffic. Those who wish to get in must lie on the mercy of drivers on the highway or wait for an opening to slide in.

How should a driver pass an emergency vehicle that’s parked on the side of the road with their lights flashing?

  • Drive slowly
  • Ignore it
  • Stop
  • Move to another lane or slow down and drive with caution

If a driver encounters an emergency vehicle with flashing lights, they should move to another lane or slow down and pass with caution. The same rule applies if encountering a tow truck or a construction crew with flashing lights.

If a driver encounters an emergency vehicle with flashing lights, they should move to another lane or slow down and pass with caution. The same rule applies if encountering a tow truck or a construction crew with flashing lights.

Which driver has the right of way when there’s a four-way stop?

  • The first car to arrive or the car to the right
  • The car to the right
  • The car to the left
  • Whoever drives off first

The first car that arrives in a four-way stop has the right of way. But if two cars arrive at the stop at the same time, then the driver to the left must yield to the car to the right.

The first car that arrives in a four-way stop has the right of way. But if two cars arrive at the stop at the same time, then the driver to the left must yield to the car to the right.

Which of these drivers are exempt from having a CDL?

  • School bus
  • Military vehicles
  • Semi Truck
  • Dump truck

Drivers who operate military vehicles while on active military duty are not required to have a CDL. Emergency personnel, farm equipment operators, and recreational vehicles for personal use don’t require a CDL either.

Drivers who operate military vehicles while on active military duty are not required to have a CDL. Emergency personnel, farm equipment operators, and recreational vehicles for personal use don’t require a CDL either.

What does it mean when drivers see a solid yellow line with a broken yellow line on their side of the highway?

  • Don’t pass unless it’s an emergency
  • Drivers on the other side of the road can pass
  • It’s there for decoration
  • Pass only if it’s safe

If there’s a broken yellow line, it means that it’s okay to pass as long as it’s safe and there’s no heavy traffic. The solid yellow line on the other side means that it’s illegal for traffic on the other side to pass.

If there’s a broken yellow line, it means that it’s okay to pass as long as it’s safe and there’s no heavy traffic. The solid yellow line on the other side means that it’s illegal for traffic on the other side to pass.

How often should a driver check their cargo?

  • Every 300 miles
  • After the first 50 miles and every 150 miles after that
  • Every 300 miles
  • Every 3 hours

According to the National Safety Code Standard 10, “all drivers shall stop and check their load within the first 80 km and then again every three hours or 240 km (150 miles), whichever comes first.”

According to the National Safety Code Standard 10, “all drivers shall stop and check their load within the first 80 km and then again every three hours or 240 km (150 miles), whichever comes first.”

What is the earliest that a driver should signal before making a turn?

  • 50 feet before turning
  • 150 feet before turning
  • 150 feet before turning
  • 100 feet before turning

For safety reasons, it’s recommended that drivers signal at least 100 feet before making a turn. This gives the driver behind them ample warning and reduces the risk of getting rear ended.

For safety reasons, it’s recommended that drivers signal at least 100 feet before making a turn. This gives the driver behind them ample warning and reduces the risk of getting rear ended.

What must a driver do if their car breaks down on the shoulder?

  • Nothing
  • Stay in the car until help arrives
  • Use the hazards and stay out of the traffic side of the car
  • Stand on the traffic side of the vehicle with the hazards on

If the car breaks down or suffers a flat tire, drivers should push the vehicle to the shoulder and turn on their hazards. Then they need to exit their car and avoid the traffic side and wait for a tow truck or other emergency personnel to arrive.

If the car breaks down or suffers a flat tire, drivers should push the vehicle to the shoulder and turn on their hazards. Then they need to exit their car and avoid the traffic side and wait for a tow truck or other emergency personnel to arrive.

What should you do when you encounter this sign?

  • Drive cautiously because there is a winding road ahead
  • Get ready to make a sharp right turn
  • Get your brakes ready to make a steep drop
  • Prepare to drive on a steep incline

This curvy symboled sign means that there is an upcoming road with three or more curves in it. This sign warns drivers to slow down in anticipation of these oncoming swerves in the road ahead.

This curvy symboled sign means that there is an upcoming road with three or more curves in it. This sign warns drivers to slow down in anticipation of these oncoming swerves in the road ahead.

How fast should you drive when entering a freeway?

  • 30 mph
  • 60 mph
  • As fast as you can
  • As close to the posted speed limit as possible

When entering a freeway, you want to accelerate to as close as the posted speed limit as you possibly can, while adhering to the flow of traffic. So, if the flow of traffic is extremely slower than the posted speed limit, you’ll slow down.

When entering a freeway, you want to accelerate to as close as the posted speed limit as you possibly can, while adhering to the flow of traffic. So, if the flow of traffic is extremely slower than the posted speed limit, you’ll slow down.

What is the minimum age required to drive a trunk across state lines?

  • 16
  • 18
  • 21
  • 25

Some states allow drivers to get a commercial driver’s license at 18 years of age, but it is federal law that requires drivers to be at least 21 before they can drive a truck across state lines.

Some states allow drivers to get a commercial driver’s license at 18 years of age, but it is federal law that requires drivers to be at least 21 before they can drive a truck across state lines.

Which of these is not an endorsement that is available for commercial driver’s licenses?

  • T for triple trailers
  • D for dump truck
  • N for tank vehicle
  • H for hazardous materials

Endorsements are required for drivers to operate special types of commercial motor vehicles. Some common endorsements include P, which is needed to operate a vehicle that seats 16 or more people and S which allows drivers to operate a school bus.

Endorsements are required for drivers to operate special types of commercial motor vehicles. Some common endorsements include P, which is needed to operate a vehicle that seats 16 or more people and S which allows drivers to operate a school bus.

Does the law require motorcycle drivers to have mufflers on their bikes?

  • Yes
  • No
  • In most states
  • Only for older models

Most states require motorcycle owners to get mufflers for their vehicles, and there are even rules about which type of mufflers are right for your vehicle, so you’ll need to check your own state’s guidelines when getting a motorcycle.

Most states require motorcycle owners to get mufflers for their vehicles, and there are even rules about which type of mufflers are right for your vehicle, so you’ll need to check your own state’s guidelines when getting a motorcycle.

Can you exceed the posted speed limit to pass a car ahead of you?

  • Only in some states
  • Only if it’s an emergency
  • No
  • Yes, as long as you slow down afterwards

It’s never alright to go above the posted speed limit, which is why you can’t pass another car that is driving at the right speed. Although, if the flow of traffic is faster than the speed limit, it’s alright to keep up with other drivers.

It’s never alright to go above the posted speed limit, which is why you can’t pass another car that is driving at the right speed. Although, if the flow of traffic is faster than the speed limit, it’s alright to keep up with other drivers.

Do you need to keep more distance between you and a semi-truck than usual?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Only if traffic allows for it
  • Only if you can have an open lane on either side of you

You should leave more room between you and a large truck than you would for a smaller-sized vehicle. This is because the truck’s size leads to faster stoppages, even though your reaction time may be the same.

You should leave more room between you and a large truck than you would for a smaller-sized vehicle. This is because the truck’s size leads to faster stoppages, even though your reaction time may be the same.

What should you NOT do when approaching a steep incline?

  • Check for traffic in all directions
  • Check which gear you're in
  • Put on your flashers if you’re driving too slowly
  • Get ready to floor it

When approaching an incline, it’s best to check your gears to make sure you’re going the right speed and try to keep up with traffic around you. If you’re going slower than traffic, put on your flashers to alert other drivers.

When approaching an incline, it’s best to check your gears to make sure you’re going the right speed and try to keep up with traffic around you. If you’re going slower than traffic, put on your flashers to alert other drivers.

When should you make sure to use your headlights?

  • At night
  • When it’s raining
  • Whenever you drive
  • When traffic is bad

Most states require drivers to use their headlights in the daytime, but seven states require this only for some models of cars. Some older car models are allowed on the road during the day without using their headlights.

Most states require drivers to use their headlights in the daytime, but seven states require this only for some models of cars. Some older car models are allowed on the road during the day without using their headlights.

Can you make a right turn at a red light?

  • Always
  • In some states
  • No, unless there is a sign allowing it
  • Yes, unless there is a sign prohibiting it

All states in the U.S. permit right turns on red, and this came into effect in all 50 states and surrounding territories in 1980. But if a sign at the red light prohibits it, you must adhere to those rules.

All states in the U.S. permit right turns on red, and this came into effect in all 50 states and surrounding territories in 1980. But if a sign at the red light prohibits it, you must adhere to those rules.

At what speed could you hydroplane?

  • 35 mph and up
  • 45 mph and up
  • 60 mph and up
  • 70 mph and up

Hydroplaning occurs when a layer of water builds up between the wheels and the road surface, leading to a loss of traction that stops the vehicle from responding to control inputs. Hydroplaning can occur and speed as low as 35 mph, so be careful on the road during rain storms.

Hydroplaning occurs when a layer of water builds up between the wheels and the road surface, leading to a loss of traction that stops the vehicle from responding to control inputs. Hydroplaning can occur and speed as low as 35 mph, so be careful on the road during rain storms.

Which type of commercial driver’s license allows you to drive a vehicle with a gross combined weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more?

  • Class A
  • Class B
  • Class C
  • Class D

There are only three categories of CDL and they are classes A, B and C. There are also additional endorsements which can be added to your CDL to allow you to operate more specific vehicles.

There are only three categories of CDL and they are classes A, B and C. There are also additional endorsements which can be added to your CDL to allow you to operate more specific vehicles.

Which type of accident is the cause of more than half of truck driver deaths?

  • Brake failure
  • Rollovers
  • Sideswipe collisions
  • Back end collisions

Rollovers occur when a vehicle tips over onto its side or upside-down, and they are one of the most dangerous types of car accidents, no matter what type of vehicle you are in, because they can cause extensive damage to your body.

Rollovers occur when a vehicle tips over onto its side or upside-down, and they are one of the most dangerous types of car accidents, no matter what type of vehicle you are in, because they can cause extensive damage to your body.

When during a rainstorm are streets most slippery?

  • When it first starts raining
  • After a few hours of rain
  • When the rain has just stopped
  • It’s always the same amount of slippery

When the rain has just started, the water from the sky mixes with the oil buildup on the road to create a pretty slippery situation. After a few hours the oil will start to wash away, which will make driving in the rain easier.

When the rain has just started, the water from the sky mixes with the oil buildup on the road to create a pretty slippery situation. After a few hours the oil will start to wash away, which will make driving in the rain easier.

What should you do if your car starts to skid?

  • Hit the brakes
  • Accelerate your car
  • Turn away from the skid and stop accelerating
  • Turn into the skid and stop accelerating

Absolutely do not brake when you start to skid on the road. Let your car coast and turn your wheels into where you’re skidding until you regain control over your vehicle.

Absolutely do not brake when you start to skid on the road. Let your car coast and turn your wheels into where you’re skidding until you regain control over your vehicle.

Roads that allow public travel and are under the jurisdiction of a government or public agency are known as…

  • Public roads
  • Private roads
  • Freeways
  • Parking lots

Public roads are roads that are open to public travel, but fall under the jurisdiction of a government. Roads that are on private property but are open to public travel are also considered public roads.

Public roads are roads that are open to public travel, but fall under the jurisdiction of a government. Roads that are on private property but are open to public travel are also considered public roads.

What is the average speed of motorcycle accidents?

  • 30 mph
  • 45 mph
  • 60 mph
  • 70 mph

Most motorcycle accidents occur at a pretty moderate speed, which showcases just how dangerous it can be to drive a motorcycle. It is much more rare for motorcycle accidents to happen over speeds of 75 mph, but there is about a 1 in 1000 chance of it happening.

Most motorcycle accidents occur at a pretty moderate speed, which showcases just how dangerous it can be to drive a motorcycle. It is much more rare for motorcycle accidents to happen over speeds of 75 mph, but there is about a 1 in 1000 chance of it happening.

You've scored 4/42 correct answers!

Did you enjoy this quiz? Here are some more suggestions for you:

QUIZ: Only Bikers Can Pass This Motorcycle Quiz!

Ask any motorcycle enthusiast out there, and they'll tell you there's nothing more liberating and thrilling than embarking on an…

QUIZ: Even Mechanics Can’t Pass This Car Parts Quiz

Many of us think we know the basics when it comes to car parts because we’ve watched our mechanics work…

QUIZ: Only a True Car Fanatic Can Answer These Questions!

Only a true car enthusiast will be able to name everything from the model, year, or type of engine of…

QUIZ: Name These Classic Cars That Have Seen Better Days

Although we love the sleekness of today’s modern cars, some of us still crave the classic design of vehicles from…